Prototyping Functions

I’m curious to know what the programmers here think of prototyping functions. It was how I was trained to write C and C++, formally, but I also agree with the reasoning of it.

Since program execution starts in main(), it should be the first function you see, yeah? If you have your functions declared and written, it would take quite some time to scroll through the file to find the main function and see what’s going on.

However, as I’m starting to look at C and C++ code in the wild and written professionally, my professor and I seem to be in the minority. Is my anecdote wrong, and I’m just a newbie that hasn’t gotten in the trenches with these beautiful languages yet? Or is prototyping a beginning tactic?

What do you think? Do you prototype functions? Why or why not?

For those that are not familiar with what prototyping is, here are two examples:

Prototyping

void print_hello();

int main() {
    print_hello();

return 0;
}

void print_hello() {
    printf("Hello!\n");
}

Not Prototyping

void print_hello() {
    printf("Hello!\n");
}

int main() {
    print_hello();

return 0;
}

2 Likes

Using header files will help clean this up a bit. I’m still an amateur and haven’t found a reason yet to declare any functions before hand. Also my programs are smol.

4 Likes

This is something I’ve seen a lot, too. That’s a valid point, though. Hadn’t considered the reasoning.

2 Likes

Maybe its to satisfy the compiler when there’s many files and includes to external libraries or something to that nature.
Interested to find out for sure though.

1 Like

Curiosity kills me.

This makes sense. From random on the internet.

No, declaring a function after main requires a function prototype which tells the compiler the return type, name, and passed in values.

A function prototype is this:
();

When the actual function is called the compiler already knows what it needs to know to call the function.