ThatBootsGuy's Tax Knowledge Bar

As many of you know I am a tax professional and have been for a number of years now. I run a small company in NY and do primarily personal income tax returns (federal form 1040 et al.).

One of my biggest pet peeves is the abhorrent spread of misinformation regarding tax preparation. Specifically in how it works and what you can do to benefit/prepare yourself. Not just in the general public but with some tax pros as well.

“Well I’ll have the baby in June so I supported it last year when I was pregnant so I should get the tax benefits”. Believe it or not I’ve had people in my office that think this…

So I’m here to educate people on US personal income tax preparation as people ask questions and whatnot.

7 Likes

I’ll start this off with a topic that came up in discussion recently: the Affordable Care Act (ACA). Also known as obamacare. I’m not an expert on the entirety of the law, just how it affects the 1040 and other relevant documents.

The layman’s reading of the law basically boils down to: everyone needs some form of health coverage unless certain exemptions apply, if one doesn’t have health coverage and doesn’t qualify for an exemption then there is a fine. The fine was the greater of 695 USD or a certain percentage of your income obviously adjusted if you had coverage for part of the year. The fine started smaller and was phased in over the years in which it was in effect. I say “was” because the fine has now been rendered effectively 0 as a result of the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act. It’s still in the code, but the values have been changed to render it 0 so if they wanted to, they could very easily bring it back.

So what were the exemptions to the fine?

• if it was deemed unaffordable (the threshold for this was extremely low so while most people couldn’t actually afford it the gov determined they could).
  • If you’re a resident alien (working here on a visa or similar)
  • Incarceration